Reese Phifer Hall
Need a copy of the building maps? Download the pdf version.Coming Soon
The home of the College of Communication and Information Sciences at the University of Alabama is Reese Phifer Hall.
History of the Buidling
Constructed as the Alabama Union in 1929 and first occupied in 1930, the building served as the student union for more than 40 years. As such, it was the center of campus, housing various activities and offices such as the Student Government Association, the campus supply store, the cafeteria, the post office, the Million Dollar Band and the student newspaper.
Many of those activities and offices left the building in the 1970s when Ferguson Center was built. It had become known as the Old Union Building, and when it was designated as the home of the college, it became the Communication Building.
The main wing of the building underwent a major renovaion in the early 1980s, and many offices of the then School of Communication moved in at that time. About 10 years later, the West Wing (also known as the annex) was renovated to house the College’s classrooms, computer labs, reading room, Institute for Communication Research.
In 1991, the building was renamed Reese Phifer Hall to honor the Tuscaloosa businessman and benefactor of the University.
Though we are one of the largest communication colleges in the nation, we want you to quickly feel at home in Phifer Hall. Use these maps to aid yourself in getting around our buidling.
Reese Phifer Hall contains a reeading room, multi-media classrooms, state-of-the-art computer labs and other facilties designed to enhance the student's educational experience.
- William E. Winter Reading Room
- get information about the William E. Winter Reading Room
- Computer Labs
- get information about the contents of our computer labs throughout Reese Phifer Hall
- Multi-media Classrooms
- get information about the contents of our multi-media classrooms throughout Reese Phifer Hall