C&IS Faculty Win Big at AEJMC

Aug 9, 2016

Faculty members in the College of Communication and Information Sciences attended the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Conference (AEJMC) in Minneapolis, Minnesota during the first week of August. AEJMC is a nonprofit, educational association of journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals. Its mission is to promote the highest possible standards for journalism and mass communication education, to cultivate the widest possible range of communication research, to encourage the implementation of a multi-cultural society in the classroom and curriculum, and to defend and maintain freedom of communication in an effort to achieve better professional practice and a better informed public. Several C&IS faculty members received awards for their contributions to the fields of journalism and mass communication, and for their outstanding commitment to teaching.

Dr. Andrew Billings was honored as Mass Communication and Society Journal’s Reviewer of the Year.

Dr. Dianne Bragg won second place for “Great Ideas for Teaching” from the Standing Committee on Teaching. 

Dr. George Daniels and Dr. Wilson Lowrey won top paper honors in the AEJMC Presidential Paper competition for their examination of the Comm-J master’s program partnership with The Anniston Star.

Dr. Senyo Ofori-Parku earned the Professional Freedom and Responsibility Top Paper Award from the Advertising Division. 

Dr. Scott Parrott won second place in the Promising Professors competition in the Mass Communication and Society Division.

Dr. Brett Sherrick won the Mass Communication and Society Dissertation Award for his dissertation titled “Immersive Mediation: The Roles of Flow and Narrative Engagement in a Persuasive Health Game.”