Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors for the College of Communication & Information Sciences serves as an advisory group for the College. Our board consists of established communication professionals and industry leaders who work closely with senior administration to effect positive change in curriculum, experiential learning opportunities and advancement activities.


Fall Meeting

Join us on October 10 for the C&IS Board of Visitors meeting. More details to come.

Board of Visitors


Within the board, there are five standing committees — each created to perpetuate the strategic priorities of the College of Communication and Information Sciences, including:

  • Executive Committee
  • Membership
  • Philanthropy
  • Awards
  • Faculty & Student Engagement


Mr. Henry R. Chassaignac

Mr. Henry R. Chassaignac

Lindsay Garrison

Lindsay Garrison

Our Board of Visitors

Dr. Richard M. Adams Jr.

Emory University

Ms. Donna J. Barrett

Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc.

Ms. Danielle Blevins

U.S. Department of Energy

Mr. Kenneth S. Boone

Boone Newspapers, Inc., Tallapoosa Publishers, Inc.

Mr. Stephen E. Bradley

Stephen Bradley & Associates, LLC

Mrs. Christi F. Burnum


Mrs. Denise C. Canfield

Regions Financial Corporation

Mr. Todd H. Carpenter

Carpenter Newsmedia LLC, Boone Newspapers, Inc.

Mr. Henry R. Chassaignac

Zehnder Communications

Mr. John J. Cochran


Mr. Lance Covan

Mitternight Boiler Works Inc., Bon Secour Capital Holdings, LLC

Mr. Phillip D. Cox


Ms. Robin L. DeMonia

Direct Communications

Mr. David R. DuBose Sr.

DuBose Media LLC, Townsquare Media Group

Mrs. Jamie B. Estes

Estes Public Relations

Ms. Cherie D. Feenker

Samford University

Mrs. Hallie B. Fincher

Alabama Power Company

Mr. Curtis E. Galusha

Creative Capital Management Consulting 

Mr. John C. Gardner

Luckie & Company

Mrs. Lindsay L. Garrison


Mrs. Janet Hall O’Neil


Mr. William M. Harvill Jr.

Strong Communications, Intermark Group, Inc.

Mr. Garland M. Harwood IV


Mrs. Jacqueline M. Hudson

McKinsey & Company

Mr. M. Scott Johnson

Smithwich & Belendiuk, PC

Mr. Mark E. Kramer

Protecht, Inc.

Dr. James W. LaMoreaux

P. E. LaMoreaux & Associates, Inc.

Mr. John H. Lewis III

Lewis Communications, Inc.

Mr. William B. Lewis


Mrs. Patricia D. Lloyd

Redstone Federal Credit Union

Mrs. Holly S. Lollar

The Lollar Group

Mr. Rick Looser

Cirlot Agency, Inc., University of Alabama

Mr. Daniel H. Markstein IV

Markstein Consulting, LLC

Ms. Kimberly B. Martin

Bradley Arant Boult Cummings, LLP

Ms. Felicia Mason

Alabama Press Association Journalism Foundation

Mrs. Kali M. McNutt

Birmingham Lifestyle

Mr. John L. Montgomery III

Big Communication, Inc.

Mr. Warner O. Moore III

UBS Financial Services

Ms. Debra J. Nelson

Elevate Communications

Mr. William F. O’Connor Jr.

Public Health Solutions, LLC
Results, LLC

Mr. Frank L. Perryman

Marble City Media LLC
Associated Press

Mr. Bruce S. Reid Sr.

Stamp Idea Group, LLC

Mr. Donald W. Reid

Alabama Public Television 

Mrs. C. Marie Robinson


Mrs. Ruth M. Rohs

IMA Foundation

Mr. James M. Sawyer

Natively Social, LLC

Ms. Susana Schuler-Willingham

WVTM – Birmingham

Ms. Kelly A. Scott

Houston Chonicle

Mrs. Linda P. Sewell

The Coca-Cola Company

Mr. Stephen R. Sewell

Alabama Automobile Manufacturers Association, Economic Development Partnership of Alabama, Inc.

Dr. Jacquelyn S. Shaia


Mr. Ben H. Shurett


Mrs. Jennifer G. Smith

Mr. Stuart D. Sockwell

Darby Doors, LLC
Total Trim, LLC

Mr. John F. Szabo

Los Angeles Public Library

Mr. Julius E. Talton Jr.

Talton Communications, Inc.
Julius & Ruth Talton Charitable Trust

Mrs. Debbie E. Taylor


President Sharon M. Tinsley

Alabama Broadcasters Association

Mrs. Lisa B. Weil

American Red Cross Montgomery

Mr. Joseph R. Windsor

Charter Media

Ms. Nancy K. Wood

Communications Consultants

Mr. David D. Woods


Mrs. Sally L. Wyatt


Emeritus Board Members

Mr. Alan C. Burns, Jr.

Alan Burns & Associates, LTD

Mrs. Donna P. Burns

Kaiser Sotheby’s International Realty

Mr. Roy J. Clem


Mr. Barry B. Copeland


Mr. Joseph E. Gibbs

Gibbs Investments, LLC

Mr. E. Cutter Hughes

Bradley Arant Boult Cummings, LLP

Mr. Gilbert E. Johnston, Jr.


Mr. Clyde G. Lear

Learfield Communications, Inc.

Mr. John H. Lewis Jr.


Mr. Matt P. Scalici Jr.

Fighting Cancer Network Inc.

Mr. Thomas V. Scarritt

Birmingham News Company, University of Alabama

Mrs. Debra B. Shriver


Mr. Bradley R. Shurett

Mossy Oak Property

Mr. Andre J. Taylor


Mr. Dolph Tillotson

Southern Newspapers, Inc., Tillotson Newspaper Solutions

Mrs. Judith S. Weaver


Honorary Board Members

Mr. Rece L. Davis

Walt Disney Company Foundation, ESPN

Mr. James M. Spann

Alabama’s ABC 33/40
TV Alabama, Inc.


Brie Campbell
Coordinator of College & Alumni Relations